Lately, I’ve become a much bigger fan of marketing efforts. It’s because I understand it more and I’ve been able to see some actual results from it. But I’ll be honest: I’ve always associated Marketing & Sales to each other and never in the best light. They’ve just always seemed like high-pressure fields and I’m not down with pressure much.

I’m also not down with wasting money, killing trees and trying to shove a message down someone’s throat. Based on the contents of my mailbox lately, it seems that Verizon and I don’t see eye-to-eye on all this. Seriously, there is not a span of 3 days in a row where my mailbox is Verizon-ad free. At this point it’s beyond getting on my nerves so I thought I’d share a little of my frustration with you.

These 4 envelopes arrived all on the same day

I think that’s INSANE. Keep in mind, this is just one day and doesn’t include all the generic flyers that come with our junk mail (there’s AT LEAST ONE in every pile) and envelopes addressed to “current resident” of our address. My issue with waste of money is simple: granted, we’re just 1 house, but think of how many millions of duplicates they send EVERY mailing. There’s money spent on the paper, money spent on the printing & envelope stuffing and money spent on the postage. Seriously? You think four advertisements in one day is appropriate? How many trees did you help to waste with this nonsense?

Really, the solution is simple: how about you run a quick analysis on your mailing list and eliminate any duplicates? Would that really be so hard? Trust me, it might do you some good. Because at this point, seeing how much you waste is an instant turn-off. I have NO DESIRE to switch to your services now. If you harass me this much and I’m not even a customer, I could only imagine what it would be like if I WERE a customer.

As an important note, incase you think I’m bashing on Verizon in its entirety . . . we are Verizon Wireless customers and are VERY happy with that service with no intention of changing any time soon.